Bookin-Nosbisch Rewrites Program Record Book

SOUTH BEND, Ind. – University of Iowa Track and Field senior Alli Bookin-Nosbisch improved her 800-meter school record on Saturday at the Meyo Invitational. The senior from Ottumwa, Iowa, shaved her program best down to 2:04.20. 

“Today’s meet really got me rolling,” Bookin-Nosbisch said. “I got pretty boxed in early and I was not able to get out as fast as I would have liked. I believe there is more in the tank. I’m excited for next weekend and have so much momentum heading into Arkansas.”

“Alli has been having a tremendous year,” Iowa Director of Track and Field Joey Woody said. “That’s her first 800 of the year and I think she has more in the tank. Her training has been incredible. It’s great to get that school record updated on the board. She can take it to an even higher level next week.”

Her twin sister, Grace Bookin-Nosbsich, joined Iowa’s top-10 list with a 2:08.09 mark that ranks eighth in the Hawkeye record book. In total, ten Hawkeyes recorded career bests at the Meyo Invitational, including eight new PRs in the 800 meters. 

On the men’s side, senior Nick O’Connor placed fifth in the 800-meter championship, running 1:50.55 for a new personal best. Sophomore Ryan Schreiner was close behind with a personal-best 1:51.08.

Four more Hawkeyes set PRs in open 800-meter races, including senior Katie Moore, sophomore Lily Johannes, sophomore Jalyssa Blazek and sophomore Derek Leicht

Iowa’s additional personal bests at Meyo came in the distance races. Freshman Cameron Kalaway improved to 5:06.86 in the open women’s mile, while junior Yohana Yual ran 8:21.88 in the men’s championship 3,000 meters. 

Elsewhere, junior Miya Brines placed fourth in the 60-meter hurdles with an 8.58 mark. Brines was one of seven Hawkeyes to place inside the top 10 in a final at the Meyo Invitational.

In Albuquerque, redshirt sophomore Chloe Larsen completed a strong weekend by moving into tenth on Iowa’s all-time list in the 400-meter race. After climbing to third in the 600 meters yesterday, Larsen doubled up with a 54.20 personal best to lead the Hawkeyes in the 400 meters. Additionally, sophomore Gabby Cortez (55.11) and freshman Olicia Lucas (55.22) posted career bests. The men’s 400-meter group notched three personal records courtesy of freshmen Josh Pugh (47.40) and James Fingalsen (47.64), along with sophomore Tyrese Miller (48.13). The women’s 4×400-meter relay team of sophomore Audrey Biermann, Magee, Larsen and senior Nylah Perry ran a 3:34.24 to post the program’s sixth-fastest time.

The hurdle units were Iowa’s strength on day two, qualifying four hurdlers to the finals. On the women’s side, seniors Paige Magee and Tionna Tobias won their preliminary heats with times of 8.18 and 8.35, respectively. In the finals, Magee finished fourth in 8.12, while Tobias notched a personal-record 8.15 to claim fifth. Seniors Gratt Reed and Grant Conway led the men’s hurdle squad into the finals with automatic qualifications of 7.77 and 7.81, respectively. Conway ended his weekend in fifth with a 7.77 in the finals, while Reed was right behind in seventh with a 7.82.

In Ames, the throws group was led by senior Kat Moody clinched another shot put title with a 16.63-meter mark. Senior Jamie Kofron finished second in the women’s weight throw with a 19.32-meter toss, while sophomore Sean Smith claimed fourth for the men following his 20.94-meter throw.

“It was great to get four Hawkeyes in the hurdle finals this morning. I was excited to see Gratt get back into that 7.7 range. Grant is getting back into racing and is doing very well. Those two continue building their confidence. Tionna is firing on all cylinders, especially by setting that PR in the hurdles after coming off of a late night last night. Paige had an incredible start and I believe she will be in the 7.9’s very soon. Then she turned around and ran a 52.21 split in the 4×4. Our entire 400 group competed very well this weekend. Overall, we have momentum heading in the right direction. We need to keep competing. Our young group got great experience in a tough environment. We want to be in the fire with the best programs in the country. Let’s keep building.”

The Hawkeyes travel to the Jarvis Scott Open in Lubbock, Texas, the Tyson Invitational in Fayetteville, Arkansas, and the Windy City Invite in Chicago on Feb. 9-10.

New Mexico Collegiate Classic
Men’s 60m Unseeded
6. Sal Capaldo – 7.00

Men’s 60m Invitational prelims
17. Joe Stein – 6.81
25. Miles Granjean – 6.87

Women’s 60m Unseeded
14. Alex Edison – 7.72
15. Julia Pattison – 7.73

Women’s 60m Invitational prelims
11. Lia Love – 7.35
19. Holly Duax – 7.46

Men’s 60-Meter Hurdles prelims
3. Gratt Reed – 7.77, Q
4. Grant Conway – 7.81, Q
13. Kalil Johnson – 7.94, PR
14. Kai Graves-Blanks – 7.96, PR

Men’s 60-Meter Hurdles finals
5. Grant Conway – 7.77
7. Gratt Reed – 7.82

Women’s 60-Meter Hurdles prelims
4. Paige Magee – 8.18, Q
7. Tionna Tobias – 8.35, Q
16. Natalie Harris – 8.56
23. Katie Petersen – 8.77
34. Carlee Rochford – 9.05, PR
48. Annie Wirth – 10.05

Women’s 60-Meter Hurdles finals
4. Paige Magee – 8.12
5. Tionna Tobias – 8.15, PR

Men’s 400m
9. Josh Pugh – 47.40, PR
10. James Fingalsen – 47.64, PR
13. Phillip Jefferson – 47.85
14. Tyrese Miller – 48.13, PR
15. Evan Schuster – 48.55

Women’s 400m
5. Chloe Larsen – 54.20, PR + 10th at Iowa
8. Ali Dorn – 54.97
10. Gabby Cortez – 55.11, PR
11. Olicia Lucas – 55.22, PR
13. Mariel Bruxvoort – 55.46
14. Jaiden Itson – 55.93
15. Laney Fitzpatrick – 57.40

Men’s 4×400 relay
3. Belken, Pugh, Fingalsen, P. Jefferson – 3:08.45

Women’s 4×400 relay
2. Biermann, Magee, Larsen, Perry – 3:34.24, 6th at Iowa
4. Pattison, Lucas, Cortez, Bruxvoort – 3:38.43
13. Wirth, Itson, Fitzpatrick, Edison – 3:50.81

Women’s Triple Jump
5. Daniela Wamokpego – 12.98m (42’ 7”)
15. Kayla Hutchins – 11.93m (39’ 1.75”)

Men’s Triple Jump
6. Precious Irivi – 14.68m (48’ 2”)

Meyo Invite
Women’s 60-Meter Hurdles (Prelim)
6. Miya Brines – 8.74q
12. Ellie RIckertsen – 8.94
15. Ali Frandsen – 9.04

Women’s 60-Meter Hurdles (Championship)
4. Miya Brines – 8.58

Men’s 800m (Open)
7. Brett Wasick – 1:52.50
11. Derek Leicht – 1:53.47, PR
23. Carson Lane – 1:55.59

Women’s 800m (Open)
11. Katie Moore – 2:13.53, PR
21. Lily Johannes – 2:15.83, PR
34. Jalyssa Blazek – 2:20.31, PR

Men’ 800m (Championship)
5. Nick O’Connor – 1:50.55, PR
7. Ryan Schreiner – 1:51.08, PR

Women’s 800m (Championship)
3. Alli Bookin-Nosbisch – 2:04.20, PR, Iowa All-Time Best
8. Grace Bookin-Nosbisch – 2:08.09, PR, 8th at Iowa
10. Amber Aesoph – 2:09.21
11. Clare Pitcher – 2:10.89

Men’s Mile (Open)
26. Will Ryan – 4:14.30

Women’s Mile (Open)
27. Cameron Kalaway – 5:06.86, PR

Women’s 3,000m (Open)
13. Miriam Sandeen – 10:13.41

Men’s 3,000m (Championship)
14. Yohana Yual – 8:21.88, PR

Iowa State Classic
Women’s Weight Throw
2. Jamie Kofron – 19.32m (63’ 4.75”)
4. Alivia Bauer – 18.50m (60’ 8.50”)

Men’s Weight Throw
4. Sean Smith – 20.94m (68’ 8.50”)
6. Austin Busch – 20.09m (65’ 11”)
7. Jordan Johnson – 19.63m (64’ 5”)
11. Walker Whalen – 18.35m (60’ 2.50”)

Women’s Shot Put
1. Kat Moody – 16.63m (54’ 6.75”)