More than 650 talented student-athletes are preparing for the 2018-19 athletics year at the University of Iowa.

Some will be freshmen, new to the University of Iowa and the highest level of intercollegiate athletics competition. Others will bring to their team a season or two of experience in competition and in the classroom. Still others will be upperclassmen who have experienced each of the 14 Big Ten Conference campuses, Big Ten tournament competition, NCAA championship competition, or the fun and excitement of a postseason bowl game.

Beginning Aug. 9, hawkeyesports.com will introduce 24 Hawkeyes who, for one reason or another, are poised to play a prominent role in the intercollegiate athletics program at the University of Iowa in the coming year. The list includes student-athletes from football and field hockey to soccer, women’s basketball, and baseball.

A tentative list of Hawkeyes to be profiled, as well as the date they will be featured, is listed below:

  • Wednesday, Aug. 8
Parker Hesse (football)
  • Sunday, Aug. 26
Michael Melchert (men’s cross country)
  • Thursday, Aug. 30
Morgan Kemerling (soccer)
  • Friday, Sept. 7
Reghan Coyle (volleyball)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 12
Katie Birch (field hockey)
  • Friday, Sept. 28
Anna Hostetler, Jessica McKee, Grace McCabe (women’s cross country)
  • Monday, Oct. 8
Tyler Cook (men’s basketball)
  • Tuesday, Oct. 30
Hannah Stewart (women’s basketball)
  • Monday, Nov. 5
Michael Kemerer (wrestling)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 12
Sarah Schemmel (women’s swimming & diving)
  • Tuesday, Dec. 11
Mateusz Arndt (men’s swimming & diving)
  • Saturday, Jan. 12
Collin Hofacker (indoor men’s track and field)
  • Thursday, Jan. 17
Nicole Chow (women’s gymnastics)
  • Friday, Jan. 18
Briana Guillory (indoor women’s track and field)
  • Friday, Feb. 8
Aralee Bogar (softball)
  • Monday, Feb. 11
Cole McDonald (baseball)
  • Monday, March 11
Gonzalo Leal Montero (men’s golf)
  • Monday, March 18
Manuela Lizarazu (women’s golf)
  • Tuesday, March 19
Samantha Mannix (women’s tennis)
  • Wednesday, April 3
Evan Davis (men’s gymnastics)
  • Friday, April 12
Nia Britt (women’s outdoor track and field)
  • Wednesday, April 17
Kareem Allaf (men’s tennis)
  • Monday, April 22
Hunter Koenigsfeld (rowing)
  • Thursday, May 9
Antonio Woodard (men’s outdoor track and field)

 

Archived 24 Hawkeyes to Watch