24 Hawkeyes to Watch 2017-18 Season

More than 700 talented student-athletes are preparing for the 2017-18 athletics year at the University of Iowa.

Some will be freshmen, new to the University of Iowa and the highest level of intercollegiate athletics competition. Others will bring to their team a season or two of experience in competition and in the classroom. Still others will be upperclassmen who have experienced each of the 14 Big Ten Conference campuses, Big Ten tournament competition, NCAA championship competition, or the fun and excitement of a postseason bowl game.

Beginning July 23, hawkeyesports.com will introduce 24 Hawkeyes who, for one reason or another, are poised to play a prominent role in the intercollegiate athletics program at the University of Iowa in the coming year. The list includes student-athletes from football and field hockey to soccer, women’s basketball, and baseball.

A tentative list of Hawkeyes to be profiled, as well as the date they will be featured, is listed below:

  • Sunday, July 23
Josey Jewell (football)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 16
Karly Stuenkel (women’s soccer)
  • Thursday, Aug. 31
Taylor Louis (volleyball)
  • Wednesday, Sept. 6
Andrea Shine (women’s cross country)
  • Tuesday, Sept. 12
Ian Eklin (men’s cross country)
  • Friday, Oct. 6
Mallory Lefkowitz (field hockey)
  • Monday, Oct. 16
Nicholas Baer (men’s basketball)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 18
Anton Hohrez (men’s swimming and diving)
  • Monday, Oct. 23
Megan Gustafson (women’s basketball)
  • Wednesday, Oct. 25
Kelsey Drake (women’s swimming and diving)
  • Tuesday, Nov. 7
Brandon Sorensen (wrestling)
  • Friday, Jan. 5
Clair Kaji (women’s gymnastics)
  • Friday, Jan. 19
Jenny Kimbro (women’s indoor track and field)
  • Monday, Jan. 22
Bennet Huang (men’s gymnastics)
  • Friday, Jan. 26
Chris Douglas, (men’s indoor track and field)
  • Saturday, Feb. 10
Allison Doocy (softball)
  • Monday, Feb. 12
Robert Neustrom (baseball)
  • Thursday, March 15
Alex Schaake (men’s golf)
  • Thursday, March 22
Shawn Rennegarbe (women’s golf)
  • Sunday, April 1
Will Davies (men’s tennis)
  • Thursday, April 12
Elise van Heuvelen (women’s tennis)
  • Monday, April 23
Laulauga Tausaga (women’s outdoor track and field)
  • Tuesday, May 22
O’Shea Wilson (men’s outdoor track and field)
  • Friday, May 25
Contessa Harold (rowing)

 

42662

 

Archived 24 Hawkeyes to Watch